51 stories high in Brooklyn

A friend was having their birthday at another friend’s apartment in Brooklyn. I figured that it’d be the typical Brooklyn apartment: eighth floor walk-up, a brick wall, and crappy hardwood floors. Sort of like the East Village, but cheaper and across the river. It took six years to get there – the NR wasn’t running, so I had to walk two avenues to the 6 which took me down to Brooklyn Bridge, transfered to a 5, only to find out that it was limited service and going to Bowling Green. Waited at Bowling Green for ten minutes to  board a 4. And then I arrived at Borough Hall. Total trip: hour and a half. But whatever. There was tons of alcohol and I didn’t plan on remembering the night.

I arrived at the address and called my friend, “Which floor is the apartment on?” “The roof!” 51 stories in the elevator later, I was on top of Brooklyn. The view was absolutely breathtaking. I could see the cars below, crossing the streets, bridges, and highways. There was a thick glass wall, so it distorted the photo a bit, but the view was ten times clearer in person. The bright lights on the far right side are the Empire State Building and midtown Manhattan. The lights on the left side are the Financial District. It looks farther in the photo, but it felt like the buildings were no less than five hundred feet away. It was the best view I have ever seen from Brooklyn.

Shortly after, I left the roof and downed three glasses of Jungle Juice. A hookah was pulled out an hour or two later, and I smoked that for the rest of the night. I remember the whole night, especially when I asked a black lady on the street for the direction of the Brooklyn Bridge and she spoke into her cell phone, “Hold on, Dirty” and proceeded to tell me the directions. I held my laughter until I got into the taxi which I bursted out laughing for thirty seconds. His nickname was Dirty. Wow.

4 Responses to “51 stories high in Brooklyn”


  1. 1 marthunia August 6, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    wow that is an amazing view! Hmm, I might try to sneak onto a rooftop at night just so I can take cool photos like that, haha

    • 2 Michael August 6, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      Haha! I have another view/photo from a 50-story building in Manhattan (2 Gold Street!) – I’ll look for it. That one is breathtaking too!

      I would love to live in either building when I am older!

  2. 3 marthunia August 6, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    hope you find it! I was thinking of going to Top of The Rock the other day to see the sunset but now you gave me a whole bunch of cooler alternatives 😀

  3. 4 letter reference August 7, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Excellent indeed. I have been looking for this information.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Views

  • 1,169 views

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


