Murray Hill: Ethos

After tanning for a few hours on my friend’s dad’s rooftop (which had gorgeous views of the East River), we decided to go to a Greek restaurant around the corner. I am not the biggest Greek fan – I don’t really like feta cheese or olives, but both have been growing on me as of late. I figured that I’d just find a neutral appetizer and that’d be that.

My friend and split an appetizer and we both decided on Spanakotopia. The spanakotopia, pictured above, is sautéed baby spinach, leeks, scallion, dill, and feta cheese wrapped up in delicious and flaky phyllo dough. It was absolutely delicious! Another friend ordered dolmas, but only wanted one so she passed the rest to us. They were meatless, but they were still delicious, too. The waitress also served us complimentary bread and olive oil which consisted of a few small rolls and fresh pita bread. The pita bread and olive oil were out of this world. Later, a friend ordered octopus and even that was cooked to perfection. We joked that the Asians next to us, pictured above, were having a feast, but little did we realize, we were eating just as much.

I’m truly starting to rethink Greek food. I love Mediterranean, and I know that they are very similar, but I just feel like most Greek food that I encounter has olives and feta cheese. But, again, I’m starting to realize that they are tasty. Perhaps I was just eating it wrong all these years. Ethos also served complimentary baklava at the end. I’ve had far better baklava, but I’m not going to complain when it is free, especially after the bread and amazing food.

0 Responses to “Murray Hill: Ethos”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Views

  • 1,174 views

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


